Short Story Break – Scott Semegran

March 13, 2010 at 3:57 am (review) (, , )

In My Garage by Scott Semegran. Available at Smashwords.com.

Summary: “A couple of years ago, I made a pact with my two best friends, Nolan and Jacob. We decided that we would spend the last night before the end of the world partying in my garage. And that’s just what we did. A short story by Scott Semegran.”

This is a very fast read about three lifelong friends and the way they spend end-of-the-world eve: with each other, of course.

The narrator is of one of the three men, and his view of the world reveals a lot about him. We get a picture of the guy, at least what he wants us to see of him, and he freely admits the bad and the good. Reading this story, I got a feeling of stepping into his shoes completely. In this way I sensed that the narrator was, deep down, an angst-y, vaguely discontented person. It was a lot more effective and powerful to demonstrate these traits by showing them in a subtle way than it would be to mention them outright, and I was impressed at how the whole picture just crept up on me.

This story was okay overall, but it didn’t exactly make a lasting impression on me. I think I might have missed the point; however, I thought it was written well and I’ll check out more from this author in the future.

The Bottom Line: I’d recommend it if you’re looking for a brotherly love, “bros before hos” validation kind of story.

2 Comments

  1. Scott Semegran said,

Leave a Reply

